Nothing is permanent.

Flipping though old photos of sweet memories, I can´t seem to grasp how quickly time passes. It feels like sand running through my finger tips. I want to hold onto every second and cherish every memory, because I know one day ALL of this won´t be here anymore. I´m a young 22 year old girl, adventuring this BIG beautiful world, and I know one day I will look back and smile on these times. I want to make Every.Day.Count.

I haven´t blogged in 6 months, and it truly is incredible how drastic life can change in that little amount of time.

I left Cambodia the very beginning of summer, to move to the mountains in Idyllwild, California. I worked at Camp Alandale as the Food Coordinator and counselor. It´s an incredible Christian camp for Abused fostered children. If you want to find out more, or how you can help, check it out here! http://www.campalandale.org/

Right after, I drove up to Washington to visit my family! I was the Maid of Honor in my sister´s wedding, It was such a blessing and I was able to see some of my oldest best friends, I saw my brother and his new born son, I got a tattoo with one of my bestfirneds growing up, Kaitee, and to finish it off, I started dating my bestfriend who I got to work with this whole summer named, Tyler:) After road tripping back down to Southern California I left to Spain for one month…just to realize that I needed to come back! I was in the states for literally 10 days, then came here to Madrid. I am currently studying in an academy, tutoring English for work, and the biggest reason to come back was so I could easily see my family here. I am thankful to have citizenship to two countries!!

I feel like I am finally able to breathe, and start taking everything in. I have WAY too much energy for any one person, and lately the lessons God has been teaching me has been SO prevelant and clear in my life. I am trying to soak them all in. I could write a novel everyday of something that I learned! I am realizing that being in my early twenties, it feels like {everyday is a new day for a new lesson.} I´m constantly learning  more about myself, the people around me, and my place in this world! Living in other countries definitely makes your eyes OPEN up to how diverse this world is. [How people think, their characteristics, habits, what they think is cool or not, fashion, traditions. Every culture is unique. And I have learned an immense amount from other people in this world.]

It´s easy as humans to feel like we´re in the right, or know-it-all. But that´s far from the truth, and I know for sure that I don´t have it figured out! I don´t think I ever will. I really am thankful for all the people I´ve been able to meet, and the places I´ve been able to go. They´ve really played a part of who I am. But, then again, I think every opportunity in this world has the potential to  change us, or how we think about things. I think there´s good to take in from any situation!

Life never ceases to amaze me by just how easily events can change. I think as humans it´s beyond easy to get settled in a mind set where everything around us seems like it´ll last forever. That the people, places, and the ordinaries of our everyday will always remain. And sometimes it feels as if the bad parts will never go away, either. Like, boredom, times where we feel stuck. Or where it feels like our problems will be permanent. ¨Nothing is permanent in this wicked world, Not even our troubles.¨ CHARLIE CHAPLIN  I´ve realized that one of our biggest enemies can be in the mind. Over thinking, over-analyzing, stressing too much. Etc.. Recently, I came to a point where my brain was working over-time and I came to this strange point in my life. And I had a choice to decide what to do with all my worries, and my impatience.

I decided to chose to trust God. To simply, T R U S T. It´s sounds simple, yet can be very hard. I wish things were as easy to do as it is to say them!   I can be such a people pleaser at times, and that can be detrimental. I want eveyrone around me and in my life to be happy, and that is not realistic. When I was down, and I looked up. There was God. And I can´t tell you just how much comfort He can bring. It really is a miracle. Only HE can bring so much comfort and joy to a human heart. God kept reminding me of this verse in Philippians, and honestly I had a small period where I didn´t want to read my bible, pray or nothing…But God kept telling me! So finally, one day I just opened my bible up randomly….To none other than OF COURSE Philippians 4. Here is what it says:

¨Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admireable-if anything is excellent or praiseworthy- think about such things.¨

Philippians 4:6-8

My life can feel SO crazy at times, and I know everyone can feel like that. I´ve realized though that everyone, EVERYWHERE has problems. I remember living in a tent in the middle of Africa, to now living in a beautiful city in Europe. Every one has something going on from the craziness and uncertainty of  life. They just look different!  However, it´s what we decide to do with our problems that really matters. And, when we look past ourselves and to God…that´s when there is comfort. When we decide to look to the needs of others, and not just ourselves- It puts everything in a different pèrspective.

It’s so easy to get lost inside
A problem that seems so big at the time
It’s like a river that’s so wide
It swallows you whole

While you’re sitting around thinking ’bout what you can’t change
And worrying about all the wrong things
Time’s flying by, moving so fast
You better make it count ’cause you can’t get it back

Sometimes that mountain you’ve been climbing
Is just a grain of sand
And what you’ve been out there searching for forever
Is in your hands

And when you figure out
Love is all that matters after all
It sure makes everything else
Seem so small.¨  CARRIE UNDERWOOD

ba082348b3ae266e48ce12aa15a162f2

10422032_4761410369652_8268899863682335100_nWorking at camp this summer!

10432933_4761358288350_4248216813244986363_n My precious nephew Kaden and I in Washington!10489746_4434264430687_8491889296164986487_n Oceanside Beach, CA with my co workers!

10527268_10153402061032195_9071254181010042171_n IN LA with one of my best friends, Sam!10540405_4746825885049_264443354397251691_n My brother, the beautiful bride, Ana, my sister, and me!10628404_4597816719913_2188615621777184469_nMy 2 younger sisters and me in Murcia, Spain. 10665737_705194676233102_2382917668269876926_n

Trapeze with my little sister:)

3 thoughts on “Nothing is permanent.

  1. So good to read this and hear what is happening. You write very well Nay Nay. May the Lord lead you, bless you and give you His peace as you seek His will for your life.

  2. Thanks Nay Nay for giving us an update on your life. You are an amazing woman who has seen and experienced so many amazing things the past two years. I am more than confident that God will someday use all these multi-cultural experiences for His glory. I am happy you are enjoying Spain. A bit disappointed you got another tatoo in WA…especially after our talks about that. smile. But, am very happy you are holding on to your Faith. The verse from Philippians that you quoted is a great one for all of us and a good one in the context of your blog narrative. You remain very much loved. Papa G

  3. Sweet NayNay, you have grown so much in your spiritual walk with Jesus and as a young woman in such a short amount of time. God has given you the gift of writing and you’ve used this gift to share with us, some of the marvelous experiences you’ve had over these past few years. Reading your words, that are straight from your heart, give me joy in knowing how much you love The Lord and want to follow Him. We all have ups and downs in our lives but it’s when we remember to stop and look at Jesus first, then and only then, we have the strength to continue on our journey. We are not on Earth to serve ourselves but to serve A Risen Savior. How sweet it is when we are in His Word and walking with Him through our trials and tribulations. Praise God for your testimony and may you always seek after Him, who loved & died for all our sins. Wherever you are, wherever you go, let your light shine so others may see Jesus in you. Ps. 119:11
    Love you NayNay and will be praying that God will continue to use you in ways that glorify His name.

Leave a Reply

