Life in Cambodia

 

Image

 

 

Cambodia.

I never really have had any thought of this  third world country. I barely knew where it laid in on a map — just an unfamiliar place in Asia. Angelina Jolie adopted a child from here, that’s all about I knew. And now I am living here. I came with no expectations and no idea of how it would be. And now I find myself falling in love with this place.

I am volunteering with an amazing Christian ministry called Water Of Life. I live in the girls home. Here a description of it from their website.

“” In the summer of 2013, a new ministry began to reach out to women from  at risk lifestyles and substance abuse. A house was established  It is  place for a new opportunity.  It is the “house of refuge”.  The women get a refuge from their former life and are nurtured and cared for  physically and spiritually. By daily bible studies, discipleship, accountability , and love , the women are slowly  getting set free and redeemed from their past.. Please pray for a deep and lasting work in their hearts of these precious women.”” http://wateroflifeasia.com/?page_id=1626

I LOVE IT HERE. There are many, many, I mean many differences between the United States and Cambodia. (if I wrote them all out, it’d probably turn into a novel!)

It is so hot. Hot & humid don’t justify how extreme the weather is, and it only gets worse getting into April. Rice is of course the staple food. You get around by “tuk-tuks”. (A motorcycle with seats attached.) Or “moto’s.” (motorcycles.) I’m pretty sure when it comes to driving there are absolutely no rules. Even if they had lanes, they wouldn’t use them. I love how cheap it is. It’s funny, one thing I was slightly nervous coming here was the thought of, “Öh no I have to have a diet of completely rice. I can’t be healthy.” However, it is the COMPLETE opposite. I just buy salad that I can substitute for rice. And they have smoothies here! They are only $1.00 🙂 If anyone knows me, they know I LOVE eating healthy, so these small things excite me and I seriously Thank The Lord! I also lovelovelove my ministry contact, Holly. God has done so much in her life and she is such a great, godly woman. We get along really well, and speaking of being healthy, she likes working out. So we get to do that together. I love work out buddies!

Cambodia is a developing country and had to be rebuild completely after the 70’s due to the Khmer Rouge. Here is a short description of the terrible, terrible thing that happened to this sweet country. Read at this link attached.

http://www.cambodia.org/khmer_rouge/

So today you totally see the effects of this. This country had to be rebuilt from the ground up only around 30 years ago. But it is coming a long way. This country is very Buddhist. And that plays a huge influence on life here. It’s heart breaking, really. However, seeing the redemption that God has on their lives is truly amazing and beyond beautiful. Here if you’re born into poverty or a bad situation it means that you deserve it, because of your karma…… BUT NO.NO.NO. That is so wrong. In the bible it teaches us that we’re made in the image of God. That we’re all valuable, and God made each and every one of us. I don’t think you can put a price to see a persons life change when they realize that truth.

My days here can be very different, but usually this is what it looks like: I wake up, read my bible and devotions. I go workout. Every morning between 11:30-1 pm We have a bible study at the girls house, then it’s time for lunch. (Usually rice and some vegetable/ meat dish) Then the afternoons are always different. Prayer meetings, going to “the building.” We have this week just opened a free clinic to anyone at this specific building. I like to play with the kids there:), Or who knows what will pop up! But, lately I’ve been spending time helping the girls get their jewelry business started. I help teach English around 5:30-6:30, then it’s time to have dinner together and just hang with the girls. Then it’s church & worship at night, till 9 pm. After that we head home, and I usually stay up and talk with some of the girls, then go to bed. I like how sleepy I am by the time I hit my pillow 🙂 We also do a couple of outreaches. My favorite is going to the girls on the streets, who are in trafficking. We give them an opportunity at a new life. We are associated with organizations that help get women out of sex trafficking. They have the opportunity for a job. (Barista, baking, massage, etc) And have the opportunity to get an education. As well as have somewhere to live. ( And it’s all paid for, of course 🙂 ) It’s puts so much meaning to life being able to help. I feel like my biggest role here is being like a mentor/sister to these girls and oh man DO I LOVE IT!!! I love these girls so much, it already makes me sad thinking about the day I will have to leave. My heart is so full. And The Lord is teaching me SO much. Oh, my. It’s wonderful. It truly is amazing when you listen and go where God leads you, instead of leading where you want to go. Continually I learn that God’s plan is always much greater than “Naynay’s plan.”  I’m so happy I listened to God when I felt Him directing me toward Cambodia.

 I am just so thankful that God has given me this opportunity. He is doing amazing things here. I could write forever, but there will be many more blogs to come, this is just a jist of it all. I Please keep this place in your prayers & God bless you all.

 

“”Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.”1 john 3:16

“Whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, & whoever wants to be first must be slave of all. For even the Son Of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and give his life as a ransom for many.” Mark 10:43-45

For me there is no greater joy than serving and loving others. ❤

 

4 thoughts on “Life in Cambodia

  1. God bless you for doing this Nay Nay! Very proud of you and let us know if there is anything we can do to help.

  2. Nay, I miss you so much and it makes me so happy to read this. Looking over these words and hearing your thoughts made me think back to our time in The Philippines and how my feelings there were and still are the same as your are in Cambodia. I love you Nay

  3. So happy you are doing well and enjoying your ministry. Just finished reading In the Shade of the Banyan by Vaddey Ratner. I know you would enjoy it too as it takes place during the Khmer Rouge and is very well written. We miss you and send you all our love! XXOO

Leave a Reply

